Collection Search


Digital copy of the Report of the Committee of Inquiry into Honorary Police Election Procedures. [Some details redacted].

View WD005195.pdf | Download WD005195.pdf

Reference ZC/D/AW2/A2/8/6/WD005195
Date 3 December 2002
Scope and Content Relates to an investigation into: the circumstances through which Roger Holland was elected and remained a member of the Honorary Police of St Helier; and the current procedures in place for the election of persons as members of the Honorary Police. Refers to the conviction of Roger Holland in September 2000 on two counts of indecent assault committed prior to 1992, and questions regarding his ability in 1992 to enter and remain in the St Helier Honorary Police despite having a prior conviction for indecent assault in 1986. Includes an introduction setting out context to the matter, describing the appointment of Committee of Inquiry into Honorary Police Election Procedures, and outlining the methodology of the Committee of Inquiry. Includes chapters detailing: background about the Honorary Police and child protection; Honorary Police election procedures; Honorary Police discipline procedures; the issues of how Roger Holland was elected, how he remained in office between 1992 and 1998, and how he remained in office in 1999; findings of the investigation; developments between 1992 and 2002; and recommendations. Also includes appendices, including: a chronology of parish officials of St Helier and Attorneys Generals from 1985 to date; a list of witnesses attending upon the Committee of Inquiry into the Honorary Police Election Procedures; a list of individuals who made written submissions; and a bibliography.
Names Bailhache, William
Bailhache, Sir Philip
Batho, Mr
Burnett, Alexander
Buesnel, E
Birt, Sir Michael
Backhurst, Marie-Louise
Clarke, Fred
Clothier, Sir Cecil
Coppock, Geoffrey Henry Charles
Cornwall, Geoffrey
Couriard, Mitch
Crowcroft, Simon, Constable of St Helier
Davies, Peter
Duffy, Brian
Eves, David
Freeley, Patrick
Gallichan, Edward, Centenier
Gilmour, Alan, Dr
Gray, Christopher
Haynes, Paul
Hilton, Jackie, Deputy
Holland, Roger
Hollywood, Jim
Holmes, Jeremy
Le Brocq, Robert
Le Claire, Belinda
Le Feuvre, Iris
Le Hérissier, Roy, Deputy
Le Louarn, Mr
MacCarthy, Kevin
Mahé, Eric
Parry, A
Patton, Michael, Centenier
Pearce, Peter, Centenier
Philpott, Ian
Povey, Richard Thomas
Rousseau, Wayne
Sinel, Philip
Smith, Mr
Tremellen-Frost, Kay
Webb, Pamela
Willing, Martin
Comité des Connetables
Committee of Inquiry into Honorary Police Election Procedures
Defence Committee
Home Affairs
Home Affairs Committee
Honorary Police
Jersey Evening Post
Parish of St Helier
Pomme D'Or Hotel
Royal Court
St Helier Honorary Police
St John Ambulance
States Greffe
States of Jersey
States of Jersey Police
Vingteniers and Constables Officer Association
Wiltshire Police
Wolvercote Centre
Keywords Attorneys General | Bailiffs | centeniers | chefs de police | Committees | committees of inquiry | Constables | constables officers | convictions | deputies | deputy bailiffs | Elections | evidence | greffiers | honorary police | honorary system | IJCI | indecent assault | Newspapers | offenders | Parishes | Police | procedures | reports | Royal Court | sexual assaults | sexual offences | vingteniers
Places St Helier
Dimensions 1 pdf file
Language English
Level of description File
Access restrictions PDF file - please click on the link to download
Closed until 2100


ZC/D/AW2/A2/8/6/WD005195This item»

Digital copy of the Report of the Committee of Inquiry into Honorary Police Election Procedures. [Some details redacted].


A digital image is available to view online or this item is closed because it is exempt from public access under the Freedom of Information Law. If you would like to make a request please email us.